PTI celebrates AJK election victory

PTI celebrates AJK election victory

PTI celebrates AJK election victory after Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has emerged as the largest political party in the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly.

According to the AJK Election Commission’s unofficial results, the PTI has won 25 seats.

Pakistan Peoples Party has won eleven seats and Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz secured six seats.

PTI celebrates AJK election victory

Moreover, Muslim Conference and Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Party have secured one seat each.

Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry, Khawaja Ahmed Farooq, Sardar Tanvir Ilyas, Diwan Khan Chughtai, Chaudhry Arshad and Ch. Anwar-ul-Haq have won their seats.

PML-N candidates Raja Farooq Haider and Shah Ghulam Qadir have also retained their seats.

Ex-Prime Minister of AJK and chief of Muslim Conference Sardar Attique Ahmed Khan also declared successful on LA-14 Bagh.

A total of 587 candidates contested the elections in 33 constituencies of Azad Kashmir districts.

Besides, 121 candidates conte4sted on 12 constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir refugees settled in Pakistan.

Meanwhile, AJK Secretary Election Commission Muhammad Ghazanfar Khan spoke to the APP.

He said the General Elections held in a free, fair and transparent manner.

He expressed satisfaction over the law and order.

Furthermore, he appreciated performance of the police and the Pakistan army for ensuring peaceful conduct of the elections.

AJK Election Commission

According to the AJK Election Commission, voter turn-out in the general elections remained fifty-eight percent.

In 2016, the turnout remained 65 percent.

The number of total registered voters was 3.2 million, out of which 1.7 million were male and 1.4 million were female voters.

The total number of votes polled was 1, 931,724, whereas 17,418 votes were rejected.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf bagged 32.05 percent of the votes while PML-N and PPP secured 25.65 and 18.28 percent votes respectively.


Related posts

Minister foresees 2021 game changer year for health sector manufacturing

Irfan Ali

APHC condemns wanton killing and arrest of innocent Kashmiri youth

Irfan Ali

Comprehensive review of implementation of Ramazan guidelines held

Irfan Ali