Covid 19 isolation ends for Pakistan cricket squad in New Zealand

Pakisran Cricket Team 18-players men squad for New Zealand T20I Series

Pakistani cricketers are now free to spend normal life in New Zealand
First T20 warm-up match is scheduled for December 8
Pakistan to play three T20Is and two Test matches in New Zealand

The Pakistani Cricket team headed to Queenstown for intra-squad warmup matches for the Twenty20 series starts on Dec 18. New Zealand Health Ministry finally ended managed isolation of 52 member contingent of Pakistani squad today at Christchurch.

“One case will remain in the Christchurch quarantine facility until fully recovered,” the Ministry said in a statement. “One person repeatedly tested negative and is being released from the Auckland quarantine facility today, where they had been transferred on arrival as a precaution.”

Pakistan head coach Misbah-ul-haq said, “There is no denying the fact that the implementation of certain regulations has affected our athletes, both mentally and physically prior to an international series,” He added, “I want to compliment my players and the management team for their patience, sacrifices and the hardships they have endured to ensure they not only lead the safe resumption of international cricket during the COVID-19 pandemic but also try to give their best every time they step on the field.”

Pakistan has already announced its 18th member squad for the matches which are on December 18, 20, and 22.The squad was finalised by head coach Misbah-ul-Haq and captain Babar Azam in consultation with Pakistan Shaheens coach Ijaz Ahmed, who also locked his 16-player squad for the four-day match against New Zealand ‘A’ to be played in Whangarei from 17 December.

Pakistan squad for New Zealand T20Is:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Musa Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir and Wahab Riaz.

Pakistan v New Zealand T20Is:

18 Dec – 1st T20I, Eden Park, Auckland

20 Dec – 2nd T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton

22 Dec – 3rd T20I, McLean Park, Napier


Related posts

Selectors call additional players for Pakistan cricket Test camp

Irfan Ali

Former leg spinner Mushtaq says Babar an honest captain

Irfan Ali

Ramiz sees England tour a golden chance for Azhar Ali to prove his mettle

Irfan Ali